SMNnews Forums  


Go Back   SMNnews Forums > Official Band Forums > Anomalous

Anomalous Website


Get Metallica T-Shirts & Merch from Rock.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-04-2008, 01:34 PM   #1
Lazzari
Grind/Gore Guitarist
 
Lazzari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lost Paradise
Posts: 74
Rep Power: 12 Lazzari slam gang member
Hey dudes some question to the guys from Anomalous

Well i know u guys recorded the drums with the EZdrummer program and the Drumkit from hell, wich i have and is awsome but i just cant seem to create my own drum beats.. thats why im in the need of help ! Could someone help ? Thanks a lot !!
P.S: Sorry for my english...
Lazzari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2008, 05:00 PM   #2
Metastasis
Moderator
 
Metastasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 678
Rep Power: 13 Metastasis slam gang member
Well, actually, the EP was programmed with DKFH 2 samples using Fruity Loops and Cool Edit Pro - but I don't recommend any of those! Fruity Loops sucks for sequencing and Cool Edit Pro, well...isn't very "pro".

Nowadays I use Cubase's drum editor and DKFH Superior. If you have EZDrummer, I highly recommend the Superior expansion pack because the samples it comes with are pretty boof.

So, it sounds like you need some kind of sequencing software. DKFH does not sequence the samples, it is only a sample library. You will need a program like Cubase, Sonar, or Battery to sequence using DKFH as a VST plug in. you will need to move the samples into a VST folder of the program you are using and open it through the program's settings. Hope that helps.
Metastasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 12:56 AM   #3
Lazzari
Grind/Gore Guitarist
 
Lazzari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lost Paradise
Posts: 74
Rep Power: 12 Lazzari slam gang member
How can i put the dkfh into a vst plug in ? And what cubase are u using ? Sorry for bothering u dude !
Lazzari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 11:00 PM   #4
Metastasis
Moderator
 
Metastasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 678
Rep Power: 13 Metastasis slam gang member
I have Cubase SX 3. The software recognizes DKFH as a VST, and you open it in Cubase as you would any other VST plug in (VST instruments in options, I think).
Metastasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 09:37 AM   #5
Lazzari
Grind/Gore Guitarist
 
Lazzari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lost Paradise
Posts: 74
Rep Power: 12 Lazzari slam gang member
My bad i learned how in another post ! Thanks dudee ! hey i have another question (Sorry for being so annoying! ) but what do u recomend me for home recordings, like some programs, plug ins, interfaces, mics and all that stuff; im a guitarist so my basic needs would be to have a great heavy chunky sound xD

P.s: again sorry for my english !

Last edited by Lazzari; 05-08-2008 at 09:05 AM..
Lazzari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 11:52 PM   #6
ShadowFactoryX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 76
Rep Power: 12 ShadowFactoryX slam gang member
yeah
fl studio/fruity loops arent such a good choice for drum tracks

cubase is good stuff though
ShadowFactoryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 07:43 PM   #7
Metastasis
Moderator
 
Metastasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 678
Rep Power: 13 Metastasis slam gang member
Yeah, I found a way to do it editing Fruity Loops mix downs of individual drum riffs to transition time changes, it just took a year. No more of that BS. The cubase drum editor has a tempo track and is ridiculously easy compared to my old way.
Metastasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 02:30 PM   #8
coloredCYANIDE
Derp
 
coloredCYANIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: RVA
Posts: 14
Rep Power: 0 coloredCYANIDE slam gang member
What I do is program everything in guitar pro, export a midi file, then hook it up to Acid Pro and use EZdrummer/DKFH. Odd time sigs/polyrhythms feel like they're easier to transcribe this way, and Acid Pro's tempo changes are a snap.

Lazzari, you might consider picking up a POD for home recording. As far as software I like cubase, it's pretty powerful and easy to use (got it off pirate bay too). But, if you're not producing anything too serious you could even get away with using something like Audacity, plus that's free. It's a good "intro to recording" software, I'd say.
coloredCYANIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SMNnews.com: 2002 -