SMNnews Forums  


Go Back   SMNnews Forums > General Forums > Musician Central

Musician Central music theory and gear discussion


Get Metallica T-Shirts & Merch from Rock.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2008, 12:10 AM   #61
Ouroboros
Nescient
 
Ouroboros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,967
Rep Power: 15 Ouroboros slam gang member
Site is working now.
Ouroboros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 12:34 AM   #62
ChAAPY
it's one louder
 
ChAAPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 13,761
Rep Power: 29 ChAAPY beat up john dwyer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ouroboros View Post
Audionews is very strict about ratios. Make sure you can upload what you D/L or you will be kicked within a day or two. Otherwise, donate.

But yeah, what are these other sites like?
When I d/l a torrent from piratebay or some place, it usually just shares it right afterward. But on what.cd, I can't ever get it to work. I still don't really understand how to properly seed a torrent. Any help would be appreciated, I don't want to get banned right away, haha.

So far the other sites haven't really offered much more than what I'm looking for, which is a Waves Diamond bundle for an Intel Mac. I haven't found a good crack for an Intel, fucking sucks.
ChAAPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 01:32 AM   #63
modern death
Hails
 
modern death's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 13,134
Rep Power: 28 modern death beat up jewski
Properly seed a torrent? Leave the torrent open after you have finished downloading it, haha.
modern death is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 12:36 PM   #64
ChAAPY
it's one louder
 
ChAAPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 13,761
Rep Power: 29 ChAAPY beat up john dwyer
Quote:
Originally Posted by ten_second_infinity View Post
Properly seed a torrent? Leave the torrent open after you have finished downloading it, haha.
I said I do that with what.cd, but nothing happens
ChAAPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 01:41 PM   #65
F0RBIDDEN
Registered User
 
F0RBIDDEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 4,102
Rep Power: 20 F0RBIDDEN slam gang member
Have to make sure all your ports are forwarded properly. Annoying little thing to setup if you are on a router with a couple other computers.
F0RBIDDEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 09:03 PM   #66
Ouroboros
Nescient
 
Ouroboros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,967
Rep Power: 15 Ouroboros slam gang member
Yeah, it can be annoying, but it's not too difficult.

Enter your router or DSL/Cable modem setup by typing 192.168.x.x in your browser address bar (last two numbers vary, and sometimes they use a completely different address, refer to the manual or the manufacturer's website). Usually it's 192.168.1.1 or if you use Bell South it's typically always .2.1.

Anyway, once you are there, go to advanced or a page that says networking or something similar. There it will have a list of ports open and blocked by your modem/router. Open uTorrent or Azureus, go into the Preferences window, and it will tell you what port is designated for that program. Then, go back into the modem/router setup, hit "add port settings" or something similar, then enter both UDP and TCP of "insert torrent port here". This will allow free flowing connections for your torrent programs.

Last edited by Ouroboros; 03-04-2008 at 09:06 PM..
Ouroboros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 02:52 PM   #67
ChAAPY
it's one louder
 
ChAAPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 13,761
Rep Power: 29 ChAAPY beat up john dwyer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ouroboros View Post
Enter your router or DSL/Cable modem setup by typing 192.168.x.x in your browser address bar (last two numbers vary, and sometimes they use a completely different address, refer to the manual or the manufacturer's website). Usually it's 192.168.1.1 or if you use Bell South it's typically always .2.1.
you lost me here. nothing comes up.
ChAAPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 09:36 PM   #68
Ouroboros
Nescient
 
Ouroboros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,967
Rep Power: 15 Ouroboros slam gang member
All you're trying to do is enter your modem setup. Find out the brand and the model of your DSL or cable modem, then look in the manual (likely available on the manufacturers website), and find the correct address (usually something like 192.168.1.1).

Enter that address in your browser, and it will take you to the setup, where you can forward the necessary port, to get your torrent client to seed properly.
Ouroboros is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SMNnews.com: 2002 -