SMNnews Forums SMNnews Forums  

Go Back   SMNnews Forums > Official Band Forums > The Rotted
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

The Rotted Website

Old 06-25-2008, 06:19 PM   #1
jacko

jacko slam gang member
wilkins lets talk bass - double thump?

Hey mate, as a bassist i was wondering what the fuck that is? IT sounds interesting.

Seriously man how much do you practice a week to keep speed up... i can play pretty fast , then i do a 40 minute gig and my fingers are blistered to fuck.

ITs fucking gay.
jacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 05:29 PM   #2
wilkins

wilkins slam gang member
Double and triple thump is a slap orientated technique, made famous by Victor Wootens Classical Thump, which is an awesome practice piece to play. You Tube it, and you can work out a pretty good exercise from that!

It involves slapping the string, but pushing "through" the string, so that you can get a pluck on the way back up. 1(through) - 2 (pull up) 1-2 1-2

Add in a hammer with the left, and you get the triple. 1 through, hammer, pluck 1-2-3 1-2-3

Now the fun part, add the right hand plucks with 3rd, 2nd and 1st(index) fingers. here is an exercise:

Slapping E open, hammer on 2nd fret, pluck octave, moving same up to A string. We will practice the 2 variations.

1) Slap - Hammer - Pluck 2nd - Pluck 1st (from E string once, then whole again on A string, alternating) so...1-2 (left hand) 1-2 (right hand)

2) Slap(through) - Hammer - Thumb Pull - Pluck 3rd - Pluck 2nd - Pluck 1st, again on both strings plus octave 1-2-3 (left hand) 1-2-3 (right hand)

As far as practice goes, there are 2 golden rules...

1) Practice often, every day, even if only for 3 minutes. You will learn more from frequent practice, rather than once a week for 5 hours!