SMNnews Forums  


Go Back   SMNnews Forums > General Forums > Musician Central

Musician Central music theory and gear discussion


Get Metallica T-Shirts & Merch from Rock.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 11 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 08-13-2006, 01:00 AM   #61
M. Diddy Oien
Hide UR Kids!
 
M. Diddy Oien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Longview, WA
Posts: 4,712
Rep Power: 18 M. Diddy Oien slam gang member
god damnit i'm a fuckin tard.
M. Diddy Oien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 01:45 AM   #62
Meanie
Moderator
 
Meanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 305
Rep Power: 13 Meanie slam gang member
I have been using FL for a fair amount of time, and it works ok. Now I am looking to try out some other softs. anyone any idea where i could find leafdrums or toontrack EZdrummer soft downloads?
Meanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 04:51 AM   #63
Defleshuary
-
 
Defleshuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 8,405
Rep Power: 20 Defleshuary slam gang member
I uploaded Drumkit From Hell samples...

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=YMSNM2SN
Defleshuary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 10:04 PM   #64
SurgicalSymmetry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Rep Power: 0 SurgicalSymmetry slam gang member
[QUOTE=Meanie]I have been using FL for a fair amount of time, and it works ok. Now I am looking to try out some other softs. anyone any idea where i could find leafdrums or toontrack EZdrummer soft downloads? [/QUOT

http://www.leafdigital.com/software/leafdrums/
SurgicalSymmetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 01:11 PM   #65
NavalPigsty
Registered User
 
NavalPigsty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,228
Rep Power: 13 NavalPigsty slam gang member
Oh fuck this is come weird shit....

I stumbled across this thread aaaages ago, I wasn't a member, and I had no idea what this place was. I can't remember how I even got here, I was just looking for FL stuff.

So I favourited your tut, and there it stayed for quite a while. Until, I had the problem with FL (some of you might know it, when it claims your registration has expired) and I took it out of my favourites because I thought I'd never use FL again.

But then recently I fixed FL (well, got around the problem) and started using it again to make songs. And on a completely unrelated reason, I became a member here recently. And I was just looking around and I found this.

Sweet!! Now I can re-favourite the tut, and properly thank you for it hahaha.

If any of you are interested in my attempt at music, see sig.
NavalPigsty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 02:12 PM   #66
Extremis Invictus
The Weed Warrior
 
Extremis Invictus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: OTTAWA, Canada
Posts: 220
Rep Power: 12 Extremis Invictus slam gang member
What is a good device/program/way to record guitars directly onto your computer to use in conjunction with programs like FL?

thanks
Extremis Invictus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 03:33 PM   #67
F0RBIDDEN
Registered User
 
F0RBIDDEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 4,103
Rep Power: 18 F0RBIDDEN slam gang member
I export the FL drums as wave files and import them into Cool Edit Pro where I track guitars/vocals/bass.
F0RBIDDEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 09:56 PM   #68
Extremis Invictus
The Weed Warrior
 
Extremis Invictus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: OTTAWA, Canada
Posts: 220
Rep Power: 12 Extremis Invictus slam gang member
Quote:
Originally Posted by F0RBIDDEN View Post
I export the FL drums as wave files and import them into Cool Edit Pro where I track guitars/vocals/bass.
Cool, I have cool Edit pro as well, so I'm almost set.

Quote:
Originally Posted by F0RBIDDEN View Post
Fruityloops can do that, (GP to FL) took me ages to figure it out but I have a template saved for doing it now...
I just got the full version of FL Studio 6.0.8 XXL producer edition on your reccommendation. Now I was wondering if I could get that template from you that you were talking about.

Cheers
Extremis Invictus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 10:11 PM   #69
F0RBIDDEN
Registered User
 
F0RBIDDEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 4,103
Rep Power: 18 F0RBIDDEN slam gang member
http://www.cjmmachinery.com/gp4template.flp

I haven't used it in a while, but it's sort of tricky. The way you have to do it is as follows:

Export the GP4 score as a MIDI file. Open Fruityloops, start a new blank session and go File>Import>MIDI File. Import all the tracks or just the drums, doesn't matter.

Right click on the channel that the MIDI Drums are in and select Piano Roll. Choose the selection tool and highlight all the notes in the MIDI track and hit Ctrl+C to copy. Now open gp4template.flp and right click on the "Layer" channel and select Piano Roll. Paste in all the MIDI data from the other session with Ctrl+V.

That should be the end of it and it should work fine, any problems let me know.

EDIT: Forgot to mention this but it's REALLY important. In the template, make sure you go through all the other channels labelled kikbig, snrambient, etc. and load in all of your own samples, because otherwise it's trying to play samples from MY computer and it won't work haha...The way the Layer works is that you assign each key in the layer to a different sample and it triggers all of those different channels, just like how you would program drums using a piano roll in a MIDI sequencer. Took me AGES to figure that out but I'm glad I did...very handy for programming an entire song in one pattern and copying/pasting stuff with ease...

Last edited by F0RBIDDEN; 02-22-2007 at 10:14 PM..
F0RBIDDEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 01:24 PM   #70
Extremis Invictus
The Weed Warrior
 
Extremis Invictus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: OTTAWA, Canada
Posts: 220
Rep Power: 12 Extremis Invictus slam gang member
Quote:
Originally Posted by F0RBIDDEN View Post
http://www.cjmmachinery.com/gp4template.flp
Now open gp4template.flp and right click on the "Layer" channel and select Piano Roll. Paste in all the MIDI data from the other session with Ctrl+V.

That should be the end of it and it should work fine, any problems let me know..

I was following you upto here, but when i paste it in, all the stuff that was in layer still remains and it plays both what I've pasted and what was originally there, and it sounds like a catastophe.

Anyway to clear the Layer channel of what was already there? and there is no layer in the template, only layer #2, and it seems totally useless so far. Still trying to get it.

And another thing I get no audio from miidi playback in FL. If i manually make a drumbeat i can hear it but 0% audio from the "Layer #2" channel containing the midi.

Last edited by Extremis Invictus; 02-23-2007 at 01:30 PM..
Extremis Invictus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 03:55 PM   #71
F0RBIDDEN
Registered User
 
F0RBIDDEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 4,103
Rep Power: 18 F0RBIDDEN slam gang member
Yeah you can erase all the shit in Layer #2 sorry. I didn't even open the file to look at it when I wrote that explanation. Just go into the Piano Roll for Layer #2 and hit Ctrl+A to select all and then hit the delete key.

As far as sound, you have to do what I said where you take all of those other channels and load in your own sample. The "kikbig" channel for example, right click on that and hit load sample and find your kickdrum sample and load it. Snrambient2 or whatever do the same thing but it's a snare, etc. I didn't label them because I never intended to distribute it publicly so I didn't bother but it's pretty easy to figure out what each channel does. Once you load all the samples, it should play back fine.
F0RBIDDEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 03:58 PM   #72
F0RBIDDEN
Registered User
 
F0RBIDDEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 4,103
Rep Power: 18 F0RBIDDEN slam gang member
By the way, the stuff that is already in the layer in that template I uploaded is the drum track to "The Infestation" by Decrepit Birth, from some GP4 file haha...
F0RBIDDEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 08:02 PM   #73
ShadowFactoryX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 76
Rep Power: 11 ShadowFactoryX slam gang member
where is this tutorial and can i hear some of the music you made?
ShadowFactoryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 12:58 PM   #74
F0RBIDDEN
Registered User
 
F0RBIDDEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 4,103
Rep Power: 18 F0RBIDDEN slam gang member
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowFactoryX View Post
where is this tutorial and can i hear some of the music you made?
http://www.cjmmachinery.com/FL/index.html <<< Tutorial

http://www.cjmmachinery.com/thedying.mp3 <<< At the Gates cover I did...

I don't have any full original songs finished, I can't piece riffs together to make a song for the life of me. Maybe I'll figure it out one of these days, haha..
F0RBIDDEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 03:57 PM   #75
ShadowFactoryX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 76
Rep Power: 11 ShadowFactoryX slam gang member
actually, i've been using fruity loops/fl studio for about 5 years now, i make a hybrid version of trance and industrial with some metal typed patterns. i think your tutorial is great for all the beginners. though one minor note is that i find it easier to right click on samples in your browser and open them in a new channel instead of cloning open samplers.
also a suggestion, if you are looking for more realistic samples to you use, you can download samples of paiste cymbals off of this website>
http://www.paiste.com/help/soundsamples.php
just click on which series you want, and save them

also, what are you doing/using for guitar sounds? because i havent figured how to make a good dm sound out of the fl slayer

if anyone is interested in my music > http://www.myspace.com/djdx1
ShadowFactoryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 08:08 PM   #76
Adagio
Jesus Shaves
 
Adagio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Silent Hill
Posts: 495
Rep Power: 12 Adagio slam gang member
ShadowFactory, on Xenon Disruptor, what is it you use at the beginning? Is it an arp or what?
Adagio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 11:33 PM   #77
ShadowFactoryX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 76
Rep Power: 11 ShadowFactoryX slam gang member
Its the 3x Osc
actually the song was part of the demo that came with 3.56, i just redid it and kinda changed everything around. haha i was 13 when i made that...
ShadowFactoryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 11:51 PM   #78
F0RBIDDEN
Registered User
 
F0RBIDDEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 4,103
Rep Power: 18 F0RBIDDEN slam gang member
I record the guitar parts myself, I don't sequence them.
F0RBIDDEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 11:12 AM   #79
ShadowFactoryX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 76
Rep Power: 11 ShadowFactoryX slam gang member
sick dude, the shit is good
ShadowFactoryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 01:21 PM   #80
ChAAPY
it's one louder
 
ChAAPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 13,793
Rep Power: 27 ChAAPY beat up john dwyer
Quote:
Originally Posted by F0RBIDDEN View Post
By the way, the stuff that is already in the layer in that template I uploaded is the drum track to "The Infestation" by Decrepit Birth, from some GP4 file haha...
so if you write drums in guitar pro and want to import them into Fruity Loops, you save the GP drums as a "template"? cause everytime I try and do this I get "The Infestation" instead of what I wrote in Guitar Pro. I'm confused
ChAAPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 03:40 PM   #81
ChAAPY
it's one louder
 
ChAAPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 13,793
Rep Power: 27 ChAAPY beat up john dwyer
fuckers
ChAAPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 03:58 PM   #82
tenorbass
Registered User
 
tenorbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 535
Rep Power: 12 tenorbass slam gang member
The one problem I have is the stupid piano roll. When ever I fill in the boxes it always skips when I play it! Any tips? Also when I exported my WAV and imported it into ACID Pro the pitch seemed to change. Sounded different. help?
tenorbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 04:09 PM   #83
F0RBIDDEN
Registered User
 
F0RBIDDEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 4,103
Rep Power: 18 F0RBIDDEN slam gang member
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChAAPY View Post
so if you write drums in guitar pro and want to import them into Fruity Loops, you save the GP drums as a "template"? cause everytime I try and do this I get "The Infestation" instead of what I wrote in Guitar Pro. I'm confused
No dude, just read what I typed and follow the instructions, it's hard to explain it in words I'd need to show you if you can't figure it out...I don't really have time to make another tutorial just for that with screenshots and everything unfortunately...
F0RBIDDEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 04:21 PM   #84
ChAAPY
it's one louder
 
ChAAPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 13,793
Rep Power: 27 ChAAPY beat up john dwyer
Quote:
Originally Posted by F0RBIDDEN View Post
No dude, just read what I typed and follow the instructions, it's hard to explain it in words I'd need to show you if you can't figure it out...I don't really have time to make another tutorial just for that with screenshots and everything unfortunately...

I'll re-read your post and try to figure it out on my own again. I was doing everything right but I couldn't delete "layer #2", I'd highlight everything but when I hit "delete" nothing happened. and it always started playing "The Infestation" and not the song I imported from GP5. I was just wondering if I needed to save my GP5 file as a "template" and not a MIDI file. thanks for the help you've given me already concerning Fruity Loops, I don't expect you to make another tutorial just for me haha. you've done more then I could ever ask for already.

*EDIT* YEAH!! I FIGURED IT OUT! haha

Last edited by ChAAPY; 03-14-2007 at 01:14 PM..
ChAAPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 01:10 PM   #85
Ouroboros
Nescient
 
Ouroboros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,977
Rep Power: 12 Ouroboros slam gang member
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenorbass View Post
The one problem I have is the stupid piano roll. When ever I fill in the boxes it always skips when I play it! Any tips?
There's a little menu item in the Piano Roll that looks like a grid, the last menu picture. Click on it, and then select none. There should be like a list of shit like 1/6 Step, 1/4 Step, etc. Just click none.

Now you don't have to worry about the Piano Roll boxes being locked to only a few positions. Fiddle around with the placement of those boxes until it sounds right. I don't know if there is an easier way of doing this but I found that this works for me. The Piano Roll is a bitch, for future releases they should work on having preset increments like 32nd notes and all triplet subdivisions.

Somebody also mentioned using your keyboard to trigger samples, I don't have Fruity Loops on this computer to double check, but I think it's in the Tools menu, it's called Typing Keyboard to Piano, so wherever it is, make sure the option is selected.

Last edited by Ouroboros; 02-28-2007 at 01:13 PM..
Ouroboros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 10:09 PM   #86
ShadowFactoryX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 76
Rep Power: 11 ShadowFactoryX slam gang member
has anyone found a crack for 7?
ShadowFactoryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 01:01 PM   #87
Ouroboros
Nescient
 
Ouroboros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,977
Rep Power: 12 Ouroboros slam gang member
Yeah, it's a registry crack. PM me if you want it. It's from the OiNK XXL Producer edition they have. Don't worry, it's not infected with anything, at least as far as I know. I did a spyware/malware and virus check on the file and script.

Oh, and the Typing Keyboard to Piano is under the Options menu.
Ouroboros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 05:49 PM   #88
SHRED6STRING
Registered User
 
SHRED6STRING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: saint louis,misery
Posts: 879
Rep Power: 12 SHRED6STRING slam gang member
man just wanna say thanks for the tutorial adam,it helped me answer alot of questions about tempo change,etc.........you rule for taking the time,and thanks again for the samples bro......now to write drum tracks for my guitar stuff= FUCK!
SHRED6STRING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 04:23 PM   #89
ChAAPY
it's one louder
 
ChAAPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 13,793
Rep Power: 27 ChAAPY beat up john dwyer
damn this shit can get confusing

Last edited by ChAAPY; 03-14-2007 at 03:52 PM..
ChAAPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2007, 04:24 PM   #90
ShadowFactoryX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 76
Rep Power: 11 ShadowFactoryX slam gang member
it definitely can, i dont nearly know all there is to that program
ShadowFactoryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SMNnews.com: 2002 -